Self Portrait: Final Project Part 1

Well, we started our final project of our class. It’s been interesting. Not much has happened quite yet, but there’s a large and tedious process behind the artwork. I think it’s really important to know what the process of the artist is. I feel as if those who do not understand art (how it’s created and how much time it takes even on the simplest looking ideas) don’t fully appreciate the art that took hours to do. It’s tough in the art world. 

Anyways, we’re working with charcoal and knead erasers. We have a large canvas like paper that we covered completely in charcoal dust and evenly spread across so it looks like the canvas was originally black and not white. After getting it evenly spread, we set up our work station consisting of a hand-held mirror and a bright lamp to shine on our face. Once setting up our canvas accordingly, we used our knead eraser to start at the lightest light – which is the nose highlight (a somewhat circular shape). From there, we are supposed to erase accordingly to the shading and shaping of our nose. We’re supposed to go downward to the lips first (I’m assuming because it’s easier than the eyes). I like the project so far. As Professor Ruby came around to see my work, she said it was very detailed but a bit small. She really wanted me to expand on the artwork if I was going to be that detailed, therefore she wanted me to start over. This was a good thing in a way – she wanted me to do better because she can see my potential, but it also sucked because I had to redo my intricate work over. So, being open to all opinions and critiques, I decided to start over. I blackened and evened out the whole canvas to strive for a better beginning to my self-portrait. 

And, this is why there is no picture here. I didn’t get a chance to take a picture before erasing unfortunately but I will tell you that the sheet is officially completely black still – as if I’ve done no work whatsoever. 

– The struggle of an artist. 

One thought on “Self Portrait: Final Project Part 1

  1. I read this morning about an author who said (of course I don’t remember now who! Maybe Mark Twain) that a good book is the result of what’s left out. Editing in visual art is so hard! But it is so hard to delete the hard work! So I admire your complete receptivity to “erasing” (or, reapplying tone) the image you’d worked hard to bring out. I saw its sensitivity, and I look forward to the same in the ultimate portrait…Nice courage!

Leave a comment